h1

Tri again in new shoes?

May 4, 2011

Today was so beautiful out.  One of those rare spring days in *gasp* actual springtime.  They are few and far between in south Louisiana.  We went to an art/food/charity event this evening and then took a short walk around afterward and visited a bookstore, at which I bought nothing.  Amazing!

After work I headed out to my running store and perused their sale table. I picked up a new pair of running shoes.  Pretty, pretty blue!

My current shoes are fine. I really haven’t put that many miles on them at ALL in the past few months, but when I had my running injury in January, I think a contributing factor was old shoes.  So I want to make sure that as I start adding speedwork and long runs I don’t suddenly need new shoes and have to wait for them.  These will be my first pair of Asics for running and I’m hoping they work out well, but for 60 percent off – how can you pass that up?

So I might not be doing the Hottest Half 10k after all.  There is another mini-triathlon that I want to do.  I thought it was in October, but it’s in August.  A week after the Hottest Half.  I’m sure there are people who can run 6.2 miles on Sunday and then do a mini-triathlon on Saturday.  I am not one of them.  So which will I do?

Today I’m leaning toward the Tri.  And then maybe I’ll do a 10k in October…at the beach?  And then…the half marathon in December.  Does that seem possible?  I THINK so.  A few more days and then I am going to solidify my plan.  Cause it’s time for more than leisurely walks again.

Leave a Reply

