h1

Back to the past

May 10, 2011

Yesterday I went to strength training class for the first time in about two months.  Today I am feeling it.  Ouch.  A certain reminder of what I have lost by not strength training for months.  Tomorrow I’m going back, but there is a new instructor.  I’m excited and nervous.  Yesterday’s class was familiar, the same moves that we did two months ago.  Tomorrow I don’t know what to expect.

Today I did yoga for the first time in six months?  Sure I do some stretches here and there.  (Hello forward bends and twists!)  But have I been in ANY warrior pose? Not so much.  Chair pose?  Hell no.  I think I actually heard my hips screaming during triangle pose.  It was hard, but I pushed through.  Because I need it.  I’m hoping to be able to fit in some classes at the studio soon, but even if I can’t – I have to yoga at home.  I have DVD’s, podcasts, free streaming classes on the Blueray player, cheap downloands there is NO reason I can’t make time for yoga at least twice a week.

For a long time I’ve felt yoga is actually the key to my weightloss.  When I first lost all my weight I was going regularly.  When I was keeping off my weight (and not doing nearly as much cardio or calorie counting) I was going 3-4 times a week.  In the past year when I finally broke back down into the 100’s, I was going to the studio and running.  For 4 months I ran, swam, and biked and never got back under 200.  Is the difference the yoga?  I’m thinking maybe so.  In any case, we’ll soon see.

Leave a Reply

