h1

Yoga Love

May 12, 2011

Tonight I decided to splurge and go to my yoga studio. I haven’t been there in about six months.  I drove over after work and parked, then unloaded the bike for a 40 minute ride before class.  A stranger on the road suggested raising my seat a couple of inches. I think it would be good for my knees and probably give me more power, but I keep having problems with my wrists hurting and my hands going numb if the seat is too high.  Biking used to be so easy.  I’m not sure why it is so hard and complicated these days. But back to yoga.

As soon as I walked in the door of the studio I’m greeted with the sign “I have arrived.  I am home.” How can you not smile at that?  And it really does feel true.  My instructor remembered me and my name, which I consider impressive after such a long time.  When the studio first opened I went to her class the most and I have to say she has made such an impact on me and my practice.  Often if I’m thinking negative thoughts I can think of her saying “You’re a rockstar” and I feel better.

While I’m not going to be able to go as often as I want just now, just being able to drop in from time to time is going to be amazing. I just have such a better EXPERIENCE when I go to a studio. I push myself harder both physically and mentally in live classes.  While my flexibility has certainly suffered over the past six months, I was happy that four months of triathlon training means that I have gained some muscle.  (If I hadn’t stopped strength training two months in I would have even more gosh darn in!)  It’s been years since I’ve been able to hold the warrior poses like I did.  My legs burned, but it was good thing.

I might, MIGHT be able to get a few months of unlimited yoga for a great price this summer and if that happens … crow pose.  (Source)

This was the pose that I was most proud of when I was going to yoga regularly 4 years ago.  It’s possible that I would get drunk at parties and then do this pose.  In skirts, by pools, on concrete.  I might have created fear that I would fall and smash my face, but I never did. I was a rockstar. I want to be back to that place again.  And I could do it.  Three months of the plan I’m on now?  I could do it.  And I would love it.

Leave a Reply

