h1

Race Recap: Zoo Zoom 5K

August 27, 2011

Baton Rouge Zoo Zoom 5K – 8:15am August 27, 2011

I had high hopes for this race.  Specifically I had hopes for a PR.  Since my last 5K I have done two Super Sprint Triathlons and six weeks of speed work training.  At the beginning of the month I did a 2 miler and set a nice new pace that I was sure I could have kept up for 1.1 more miles.

During the not fun at all triathlon last weekend, even with all the walking I had a good (for me) pace that I was proud of.  So I was just sure that today I could handle a new PR.  I wasn’t even looking for much.  Just shaving a few seconds off my best 5K pace.

But for some reason I just couldn’t do it.  I think a lot of little things added up. I tied my shoe too tightly, so I had ankle pain and I had to stop to retie. I was slightly dehydrated and then drank too much before the race started and in the beginning to try and make up for it.  I didn’t have my normal pre-prace breakfast.  None of these were huge things, but perhaps the combination of them just eroded my ability, or my perception of my ability.  I was on a good pace for the first mile, but things just seemed to go down hill after that. I didn’t really feel like I had slowed down or walked more than in the first mile, but apparently I did.

Still my mood was over all good.  I wasn’t the second to last over the finish line even if I was a back of the packer.  Early in the race I had picked out certain people to make sure I beat (am I the only person who does that?) and I beat them.  It was hot, but most of the route was shaded.  Running through the zoo was just fun, if extra smelly at times.  And I got animal crackers at the end.

I’m thinking my two biggest hurdles are thus: 1) Weight.  I weigh about 20 or so pounds more than two years ago when I ran my first 5K, but I put in a lot more work and I’m running around the same pace.  If I could just lose some weight I would automatically get faster.  2) I am not a morning runner.  95% (if not more) of races are run in the morning.  I think my body is generally like: “Wait.  Why exactly are we doing this instead of sleeping?”

The answer to the first: Get serious about eating whole, healthy foods and not sugar.  Do some kickass strength training.

The answer to the second: Well I’ll be running every Saturday morning from now through December 3.  Hopefully that will be enough and if it’s not… *Gulp* Early morning, pre-work runs? *Shudder*

Leave a Reply

