h1

Tropical Storm Lee and the Triathlete

September 5, 2011

Tropical Storm Lee formed in the Gulf last week and immediately the forecast became rain, rain, rain.  All of it being of the thunderstorm variety according to the ten day forecast.  Thursday morning, I found this very frustrating as I needed to get in a couple of swims and a long run during the next few days.  That morning I decided to pack my bag because maybe the rain would hold off.  And while the rain did come in that afternoon, it was just light showers and no thunder.  I was able to swim without sharing a lane for the first time in weeks.

Friday was also a swim day and I didn’t even bother to pack my bag that morning as the forecast was 100% chance of thunderstorms for pretty much the whole day.  But by lunch time, I was hopeful because while it had certainly poured at points during the day the thunderstorms were staying well off the coast still.  So I went home, grabbed my gym bag and then called the gym when I got off work to double check that they were open.  No lightening, no thunder, you’re good to go.  So I went.  And once again I had a lane to myself, about halfway through my workout I had the whole pool to myself.  Loved it!

Saturday the storm really rolled in.  I was supposed to meet my run group for a long run at the lakes at 7 that morning.  I set my alarm for 6, but the wind and the rain woke me up at 4 and kept me up.  I knew there was no way I was going to make it out anywhere by 7.  When the alarm went off I turned it off and burrowed back under the covers.

Later that morning the rain stopped and the wind lessened and I decided “Hey!  I could go for my run now!”  So I did.  The rain came back after about 20 or 30 minutes, but running in the rain, not so bad really.  Even if that rain is a tropical storm.  I ran in the street more to avoid puddle on the sidewalk and trees over my head, but mostly it was just a really great long run.  The only bad moment came when just a couple of blocks from my house my shoe came untied.  Stopping to tie it and then starting running again… hurt like all get out.  Still, when I was done, I looked like this:

Next week I’m totally ready to conquer six miles.

Leave a Reply

