h1

What a difference a week makes

September 18, 2011

Last Saturday I had my longest run ever.  6.27 miles in a hour and 40 minutes.  Yes.  That’s SUPER SLOW.  I don’t give a shit.  It was awesome.  My hip bothered me for about a minute halfway through, but I ran through it and it went away.  I think I’m going to have to add a bike ride in to my cross-training, as I don’t seem to have a problem with it when I’m doing tri training.  The bike just strengthens it or stretches it, or both in just the right way.

So I had an awesome run.  Felt great.  sunday night I got my training email for half group and was pysched to see we were doing speed work on Wed. I actually uttered the words “I like speed work.”  And somehow come Monday – I lost the feeling.  I didn’t workout this week at all.  I did yoga.  And finished 100 consecutive days! That will have to be its own  post.  So other than some light yoga nothing.  I skipped my solo runs, skipped speedwork, avoided the poll and didn’t touch weights or the cable machine once.  I also ate junk, junk, junk.  Oh and some more junk.

It’s as if I was a different person.  Or my old person.   In the past it was the norm to eat processed crap more than not, to go home after work and just collapse for the evening.

I know I like working out.  I know I like racing.  I know I like the way I feel when I eat healthy.  But I backslide.  And this week was one of the worst backslides in a long, long time.

But I have hope for this coming week.  One step back must be followed with two steps forward.  Or at least one step forward.

Leave a Reply

